American Musicological Society – Awards

The American Musicological Society‘s (AMS) purpose is to advance scholarship in the various fields of music through research, learning, and teaching. There are a number of award deadlines coming up.

Eligibility (for most awards): Nominee must be an AMS member OR citizen or permanent resident of Canada or the United States.

    • Otto Kinkeldey Award
      for outstanding work of musicological scholarship (beyond early stages)
      (deadline: 1 May 2018)
    • Lewis Lockwood Award
      for outstanding work of musicological scholarship (early stages)
      (deadline: 1 May 2018)
    • Paul Pisk Prize
      for outstanding paper at annual meeting by graduate student
      (deadline: 2 Oct. 2018)
    • H. Colin Slim Award
      for outstanding article in musicology (beyond early stages)
      (deadline: 1 May 2018)
    • Robert M. Stevenson Award
      for outstanding scholarship in Iberian music, including music composed, performed, created, collected, belonging to, or descended from the musical cultures of Spain, Portugal, and all Latin American areas in which Spanish and Portuguese are spoken.
      (deadline: 1 May 2018)                         
    • AMS Teaching Award
      for an exceptional pedagogical resource
      (deadline: 1 May 2018)
    • Philip Brett Award Administered by the LGBTQ Study Group of the AMS:
      for outstanding work in gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender/transsexual studies
      (deadline: 15 August 2018 )

Click on the award titles above for detailed guidelines.

To nominate work for an award, follow this link

 photo credit: Pascal Volk Violoncello via photopin (license)

About the Author

Kueneman, Karen
Staff, 2015 Fall
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Subscribe to the FIMULAW blog
Receive notifications when new posts are published