Gerda Henkel Prize

The Gerda Henkel Prize is awarded every two years to excellent and internationally acclaimed researchers who have demonstrated outstanding scholarly achievement in the disciplines and funding areas supported by the Foundation and can be expected to continue to do so. The Gerda Henkel Prize is worth 100,000 euros. The prize money may be used at the winner’s discretion.

Nominations: Research in the following fields is supported:

  • Archaeology
  • History, Art History, History of Law, History of Science, Prehistory and Early History, Historic Islamic Studies
  • “Islam, the Modern Nation State, and Transnational Movements”
  • “Security, Society and the State”

A complete nomination package is submitted online

Deadline: The final nomination deadline is January 19, 2018

Contact: Interested parties are encouraged to consult with Julaine Hall ( at Research Development & Services regarding this awards and the nomination processes.

Website for additional information:

 photo credit: Ian D. Keating Brimstone Hill Fortress via photopin (license)

About the Author

Kueneman, Karen
Staff, 2015 Fall
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Subscribe to the FIMULAW blog
Receive notifications when new posts are published