Royal Society of Canada – Medals and Awards 2018

Medals and Awards from the Royal Society of Canada – 2018

The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) offers a variety of prestigious medals and awards recognizing outstanding achievements of Canadian researchers. It is a responsibility of Fellows of the RSC to nominate candidates for these honours, and they are explicitly invited to do so every year. In 2018, the following awards will be offered:

In the humanities and social sciences:

  • Innis-Gérin Medal: Awarded for a distinguished and sustained contribution to the literature of the social sciences including human geography and social psychology.
  • Kitty Newman Award: Awarded to an outstanding emerging Canadian scholar in the field of philosophy. The award is given for excellence in the field, which is broadly understood to include philosophy of culture, religion, law, ethics, and logic, or any other branch of philosophy deemed appropriate by the committee
  • Lorne Pierce Medal: The medal is awarded for an achievement of special significance and conspicuous merit in imaginative or critical literature written in either English or French (critical literature dealing with Canadian subjects has priority over critical literature of equal merit that does not deal with Canadian subjects).
  • B. Tyrrell Historical Medal: The medal is awarded for outstanding work in the history of Canada.
  • Ursula Franklin Award in Gender Studies: Awarded to recognize significant contributions by a Canadian scholar in the humanities and social sciences to furthering our understanding of issues concerning gender.
  • Yvan Allaire Medal (Medal + $5,000)– For outstandingresearch in Governance.

Nomination Process: Nominees must be Canadian citizens or have been Canadian residents for the past three years. Nominations for the awards must be made by either:

  • a Fellow of the RSC, plus two co-nominators; or
  • the president of the university, plus two co-nominators.

A full nomination package will consist of:

  • the nomination form
  • the letters of nomination from the primary nominator and co-nominators
  • a 70-word citation
  • a 1200-word appraisal of the nominee’s work and suitability for the award
  • a CV (max. 20 pages)
  • three letters of reference (with biographies)

Key Dates:
February 1, 2018Institutional nomination must be initiated by this date through Julaine Hall in RSDE.
March 1, 2018Nomination Deadline
September, 2018 – Public announcement of award winners

Contact: Interested parties are encouraged to consult with Julaine Hall ( at Research Development & Services regarding these medals and awards and the nomination process.

More information is available online:

photo credit: zsispeo Goldbelly Damsel – Pomacentrus auriventris via photopin (license)

About the Author

Kueneman, Karen
Staff, 2015 Fall
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Subscribe to the FIMULAW blog
Receive notifications when new posts are published