Medals and Awards from the Royal Society of Canada – 2019

The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) offers a variety of prestigious medals and awards recognizing outstanding achievements of Canadian researchers. Nominees are not required to be a Fellow or College Member of the RSC. In 2019, the following awards will be offered:

In the humanities and social sciences:

  • Pierre Chauveau Medal – Awarded for a distinguished contribution to knowledge in the Humanities.
  • Jason A. Hannah Medal – Awarded for an important publication in the history of medicine.
  • Yvan Allaire Medal + $5,000 – For outstanding contribution in governance (Social Sciences)

Nomination Process:Nominees must be Canadian citizens or have been Canadian residents for the past three years. Nominations for the awards must be made by either:

  • a Fellow of the RSC, plus two co-nominators; or
  • the president of the university, plus two co-nominators.

A full nomination package will consist of:

  • the nomination form
  • the letters of nomination from the primary nominator and co-nominators
  • a 70-word citation
  • a 1200-word appraisal of the nominee’s work and suitability for the award
  • a CV (max. 20 pages)
  • three letters of reference, with a biography statement for each referee.

Key Dates:
February 1, 2019: Institutional nomination must be initiated by contacting Julaine Hall ( in RDSE
March 1, 2019: RSC nomination submission deadline

Contact: Interested nominees and nominators should contact Please also contact Karen Kueneman, Research Officer and your Associate Dean Research, Director of Research or Assistant Dean Research if interested.

For more information visit

photo credit: `James Wheeler Unbelievable Sunrise via photopin (license)

About the Author

Kueneman, Karen
Staff, 2015 Fall
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Subscribe to the FIMULAW blog
Receive notifications when new posts are published