Canada-UK Artificial Intelligence Initiative

SSHRC has announced the launch of a new interdisciplinary and international funding opportunity between the three Canadian federal research funding agencies and four research councils from the UK Research and Innovation (UKRI). The Canadian agencies include the Canadian Institutes of Health Research; the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council; and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council. The four UKRI research councils involved are the Arts and Humanities Research Council; the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC); the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council; and the Medical Research Council.

The Canadian agencies and UKRI are jointly supporting collaborations in Artificial Intelligence (AI) between stakeholders in Canada and the UK. The aim is to build competitive and resilient economies and maximize the social and health benefits. Proposals will be required to demonstrate a significant degree of interdisciplinarity, with research that cuts across at least two of the following research domains:

•             social sciences and humanities;
•             health and biomedical sciences; and |
•             natural sciences and engineering.

Amount: Canadian applicants can request up to $173,333 per year for three years for a total of $520,000 per project.

Deadlines:
Intention to SubmitMANDATORY: August 19, 2019 (11:00 p.m. BST / 6:00 p.m. eastern)
Faculty Research Office: 5 days prior to SSHRC deadline. (If you wish to have feedback on your application allow at least one week – contact Karen Kueneman)
Research Western: 5 days prior to SSHRC deadline
Full Application: September 12, 2019 (4:00 p.m. BST / 11:00 a.m. eastern).

More information and Applications: ESRC is the coordinating agency. All relevant documents for this funding opportunity are available in English on ESRC’s website and in French upon request. All proposals for this call will be submitted through the ESRC’s Joint Electronic Submissions system (Je-S). In addition to the call-specific documents available on ESRC’s website, researchers affiliated with eligible Canadian institutions are also invited to consult SSHRC’s website for guidance and additional information regarding Tri-agency eligibility criteria and terms and conditions for participation.

Webinars for potential applicants to this call will be held on July 17. Applicants are strongly encouraged to participate in one. The webinars will be hosted by ESRC and are open to participants from Canada and the UK. They will provide information on the requirements of the call and will provide an opportunity for questions and answers about the call specification and application process. An English webinar will be held from 4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. BST (11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. eastern), and a French webinar will be held from 5:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. BST (12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. eastern). Spaces will be limited, so you are encouraged to register your interest early by emailing aiukcanada@esrc.ukri.org. When registering your interest, please indicate which webinar time you wish to join. Registration for the webinars will close on July 12.

Canada-UK AI Initiative- Webinar presentation slides
Link to Webinar Recording (Audio Transcript and Chat)
Link to Webinar Q&A

In order to assist the establishment of international, collaborative teams, researchers are encouraged to use the partnering tool for the Canada-UK Artificial Intelligence Initiative which offers the opportunity to search for partners and to present their expertise to the community. This is an optional step in the application process and does not confer any advantages to the applicants.

Questions – please contact:
Lauren Mathieson, Lauren.Mathieson@SSHRC-CRSH.GC.CA, 613-947-9656

photo credit: John Westrock Behind Every Storm Is Light via photopin (license)

About the Author

Kueneman, Karen
Staff, 2015 Fall

Be the first to comment on "Canada-UK Artificial Intelligence Initiative"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*