Killam Prizes – 2021

*Due to the impact of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, The Canada Council for the Arts has extended the deadline for submitting nominations for these prizes to June 30, 2020 *

Administered by the Canada Council for the Arts, the Killam Prizes (distinct from the Killam Fellowships) are among Canada’s most prestigious and distinguished research awards. Five unrestricted prizes are awarded annually to provide support to Canadian scholars of exceptional ability who are actively engaged in research of broad significance and widespread interest. One prize is awarded in each of the following fields: humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences, and engineering.

Candidates must have made a substantial and distinguished contribution, over a significant period, to scholarly research in Canada. Their outstanding achievements must have been clearly demonstrated already, and they are expected to make further contributions to the scholarly and scientific heritage of Canada.

Deadline: June 30, 2020

Amount: $100,000 non-taxable prize

Nomination Process: Scholars may not apply for the Killam Prizes; they must be nominated by an expert in their field.
A complete nomination package will consist of the following:

  • The nomination form
  • copy of proof of Canadian citizenship (e.g., passport photocopy);
  • original, signed nomination letter;
  • two-page description of the nature of the nominee’s research and distinguished contributions, including why s/he should be considered for the award
  • one-page biography of the nominee, summarizing education, distinguished research achievements, current research interests, and honours and awards;
  • up to three supporting letters from experts in the nominee’s field
  • nominee’s CV (max. 30 pages), using required subheadings:
    • biographical information and education
    • honours and awards
    • academic and other employment history
    • professional affiliations and activities
    • supervisory and mentoring history
    • funding history
    • selected refereed publications
    • career metrics (in table format)

Submission: Nominations may be submitted in paper format or may be submitted electronically through a dedicated email address: Final nomination packages must be sent directly to the Canada Council for the Arts.

For complete details, the nomination form, and resources and templates visit:

photo credit: joeldinda Robin at Work via photopin (license)

About the Author

Kueneman, Karen
Staff, 2015 Fall
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Subscribe to the FIMULAW blog
Receive notifications when new posts are published