2023 Killam Prizes

Image by pasja1000 from Pixabay

Administered by the National Research Council of Canada, the Killam Prizes are among Canada’s most prestigious and distinguished research awards. Five prizes are awarded annually to provide support to Canadian scholars of exceptional ability who are actively engaged in research of broad significance and widespread interest. One prize is awarded in each of the following fields:

  • humanities,
  • social sciences,
  • natural sciences,
  • health sciences, and
  • engineering

Amount: $100,000


DeadlinesRequired Steps
Internal: May 1, 2022Notice of intent to nominate Email rwprizes@uwo.ca if you wish to have Western Research support the coordination of your nomination.
External: June 30, 2022Anticipated final submission

Eligibility: Candidates must have made a substantial and distinguished contribution, over a significant period, to scholarly research in Canada. Their outstanding achievements must have been clearly demonstrated already, and they are expected to make further contributions to the scholarly and scientific heritage of Canada.

Nomination: Scholars may not apply for the Killam Prizes; they must be nominated by an expert in their field.

More information on nomination procedures…

Contact: Interested parties are encouraged to consult with Julaine Hall, Western Research, Research Development Officer (Awards & Distinctions), regarding this award and the nomination processes.

Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Subscribe to the FIMULAW blog
Receive notifications when new posts are published