TED (Technology, Entertainment, Design) Prize

The TED Prize is awarded annually to a leader with a fresh, bold vision for sparking global change. The TED Prize winner receives a cash award – and the TED community’s wide range of resources and expertise – to make their dream become a reality.

Amount: $1,000,000 (USD)

Deadline: nominations are considered year-round on a rolling basis. They are currently accepting nominations for the 2017 TED Prize – submit by August 31, 2016

Eligibility: TED Prize nominees can be activists, scientists, artists, educators, entrepreneurs, technologists…. The ideal nominee is a visionary who thinks big, and a strong leader with the skills to make things happen. You can nominate yourself. You can nominate a colleague, a mentor or a friend. You can nominate someone whose work you admire from afar, even if you’ve never met.

Description: The Prize begins with a big wish – one that will inspire thinkers and doers across the globe to get involved. The award offers support to build a project’s core infrastructure so that people across the globe can add their own collaborative action to the mission.

More information and nominations…

Past Winners

 photo credit: “Unnumbered Sparks” – Net Sculpture over Vancouver, TED Conference, Janet Echelman via photopin (license)

About the Author

Kueneman, Karen
Staff, 2015 Fall