Royal Society of Canada Medals & Awards – 2022

Image by Couleur from Pixabay

The Royal Society of Canada offers a variety of prestigious medals and awards each year recognizing outstanding achievements of Canadian scholars.

In 2022, the following medals and awards are open for competition:

In the humanities and social sciences

  • Alice Wilson Award – to three women of outstanding academic qualifications in the Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences or Sceince who are entering a career at the postdoctoral level
  • Innis-Gérin Medal – for a distinguished and sustained contribution to the literature of the social sciences
  • J.B. Tyrell Historical Medal – for outstanding work in the history of Canada
  • Kitty Newman Award – for outstanding contributions from an emerging scholar in the field of philosophy
  • Lorne Pierce Medal – for an achievement in critical or imaginative literature
  • Ursula Franklin Award in Gender Studies  – for  contributions to furthering our understanding of issues concerning gender
  • Yvan Allaire Medal (Medal + $5,000) – For outstanding contribution in governance (Social Sciences)

In science and engineering:

  • Bancroft Award – for instruction and research in the science of geology
  • Flavelle Medal – for meritorious achievement in biological science
  • John L. Synge Award (Diploma) – For outstanding research in any of the branches of the mathematical sciences (preference to candidates under 40)
  • McLaughlin Medal – For important research of sustained excellence in any branch of medical sciences.
  • Miroslaw Romanowski Medal (Medal + $3,000 + lecture series) – Awarded for contributions towards the resolution of scientific aspects of environmental problems or for important improvements to the quality of an ecosystem in all aspects – terrestrial, atmospheric and aqueous – brought about by scientific means
  • Rutherford Memorial Medal in Chemistry – For research in chemistry (preference will be given to candidates under forty years old)
  • Rutherford Memorial Medal in Physics – For research in physics (preference will be given to candidates under forty years old)
  • Willet G. Miller Medal – For outstanding research in any branch of earth sciences.


  • Nominees must be Canadian citizens or have been Canadian residents for the past three years; and
  • Nominees are not required to be a Fellow of the RSC.

Nomination Process: Nominations must be made by either a Fellow of the RSC or the President of the University.

More Information

DeadlinesRequired Steps
For institutional nominations
Internal: Tuesday, January 21, by/before 4 p.m.
The process of securing and acquiring the nomination letter must be managed through the Research Development office.

Email with the name of your candidate and the RSC Medal or Award.
External: March 31, 2022Final submission to the RSC

Contact: Interested parties are encouraged to consult with Julaine Hall, Research Development Officer (Awards & Distinctions), regarding this award and the nomination processes.

Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Subscribe to the FIMULAW blog
Receive notifications when new posts are published