Western Research Excellence Awards

Image by Jorge Guillen from Pixabay

The new Western Research Excellence Awards are an update to the Hellmuth Prizes for Achievement in Research. They are intended to both celebrate and position scholars well for additional, external awards.

There are three categories of prizes representing different career stages. Each category includes two awards to ensure full representation across disciplines: one in the area broadly defined as the natural sciences, engineering and health (research that would be supported by NSERC and CIHR) and one in the social sciences, arts and humanities (research that would, in general, fall under SSHRC’s mandate).

These awards comprise:

  1. Western Research Excellence Award – Outstanding Emerging Scholar, which recognizes accomplishments in the early stages of a career and great future promise for excellence and impact in a discipline or for broader society;
  2. Western Research Excellence Award – Outstanding Scholar, which recognizes those who have produced exceptional research, scholarship and creative activity and have clear potential for ongoing excellence, significance and impact in a discipline or for broader society; and
  3. Western Research Excellence Award – Outstanding Lifetime Achievement, which recognizes world-class scholars with substantial bodies of work who have demonstrated sustained excellence and enduring contributions and impact in a discipline or for broader society.

Amount: $5,000 for Outstanding Emerging Scholars and Outstanding Scholars; $10,000 for Outstanding Lifetime Achievement

Deadline: March 24, 2023

More information on the nomination process… Each faculty may submit up to one nomination in each of the three award categories.

Please contact your Dean, ADR and Karen Kueneman if you wish to be considered for nomination.

Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Subscribe to the FIMULAW blog
Receive notifications when new posts are published