Killam Prizes

Image by Hans from Pixabay

Administered by the National Research Council of Canada, the Killam Prizes are among Canada’s most prestigious and distinguished research awards. Five prizes are awarded annually to support Canadian scholars of exceptional ability who are actively engaged in research of broad significance and widespread interest. One prize is awarded in each of the following fields:

  • humanities
  • social sciences
  • natural sciences
  • health sciences, and
  • engineering

Amount: $100,000

DeadlinesRequired Steps
Internal: Friday, April 14, 2023Notice of Intent to Nominate Email Research Awards & Distinctions for support and coordination regarding your nomination. Also contact your ADR and Research Officer, Karen Kueneman.
External: Friday June 2, 2023*Anticipated Final Submission*

Eligibility: Candidates must have made a substantial and distinguished contribution over a significant period to scholarly research in Canada. Their outstanding achievements must have been clearly demonstrated already and they are expected to make further contributions to the scholarly and scientific heritage of Canada.

Nomination: Scholars may not apply for the Killam Prizes; candidates must be nominated by another individual who can provide compelling details regarding the nominee and their work, accomplishments and impact.

More information…

Contact: Interested parties are encouraged to consult with Research Awards & Distinctions at Western Research regarding this award and the nomination process. Please also contact your ADR and Karen Kueneman.

*NOTE: This pre-call framework is based on previous Killam Prize competitions and is therefore subject to change as new information is provided by The National Killam Program.

Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Subscribe to the FIMULAW blog
Receive notifications when new posts are published